Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: KWC Football

Contribute to D2

Default KWC Football

Kentucky Wesleyan graduated around 23 seniors on a team that was dominated this past season with freshmen. Coach Holsclaw has already brought in his first wave of recruits to replace the seniors and any players who quit. KWC will probably never see another Keelan Cole. At one time I thought KWC would eventually be a top ranked football team in DII. I was at the college as a student in 1983 when they started the football program. It baffles me why I ever thought Wesleyan would ever be a national contender in football.

The program got off to a terrible start from the get go. While I was a student there some of the football players wore hoods and mugged a Dominos Pizza delivery man. How cool is that? If some of the team members were not moral delinquents, the team was absolutely horrible. Some seasons they couldn't even beat D3 JV programs. Rob Mallory, the current Director of Athletics at KWC, could bring in a high quality football coach with his connections, but the college is so afraid that nobody will ever be able to recruit the number of players into a D2 football program like Brent Holsclaw can. I am not sure how many of these players are on scholarship.