Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Player of the Year

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Maryville, MO
    Contribute to D2
    Rep Power

    Default Player of the Year

    Justin Pitts was just named the Basketball Times Player of the Year.
    Full article:
    For Immediate Release – NCAA Division II Championships
    NW Missouri’s Pitts, Fairmont State’s Coach
    Calhoun Sweep Basketball Times Top D2r Honors
    Winning. That is the major ingredient for a player of the year and coach of the year.
    And Basketball Times’ top picks meet the requirement in aces. Capturing the honors are NCAA
    Division II’s Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri State as player of the year and Jerrod Calhoun of
    Fairmont State (W. Va.) as coach of the year as they move into the Elite Eight.
    Pitts is joined on the All-America first team by other Elite Eight participants Matt
    Bingaya of Fairmont State and Justin Reyes of St. Thomas Aquinas (N.Y.).
    Pitts, a 5-9 junior, averaged 20.5 points, 3.5 rebounds and 5.2 assists per game. Reyes, a
    6-4 junior, averaged 20.4 points and 9.5 rebounds per game. Bingaya, a 6-4 senior, averaged
    19.4 points and 7.3 rebounds per game.
    Coach Calhoun’s Fairmont State team racked up a 32-2 record this season, winning the
    Mountain East Conference r regular-season championship and spending weeks in the numberone
    spot in D2 rankings.
    Basketball Times is recognized as the leading monthly publication featuring men’s and
    women’s college basketball, and especially many years with leading coverage of small colleges.
    Basketball Times
    NCAA Division II All-Americans
    Justin Pitts, Northwest Missouri State - Player of the Year
    Jerrod Calhoun, Fairmont State (W. Va.) - Coach of the Year

    First Team
    Name, School Ht. Yr.
    Matt Bingaya, Fairmont State (W. Va.) 6-7 Sr.
    Justin Pitts, Northwest Missouri State 5-9 Jr.
    Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas (NY) 6-4 Jr.
    Michael Smith, Cal Baptist 6-4 Sr.
    Taylor Stafford, Western Washington 6-1 Sr.

    Second Team
    Daeshon Francis, Permian Basin (Tex.) 6-3 Jr.
    Braxton Reeves, East Central (Okla.) 6-4 Sr.
    Devin Schmidt, Delta State (Miss.) 6-4 Sr.
    Dustin Sleva, Shippensburg (Pa.) 6-8 Jr.
    Jeril Taylor, Southern Indiana 6-4 Sr.

    Third Team
    A.J. Clark, Pfeiffer (N.C.) 5-10 Sr.
    Charles Clark, Carson-Newman (Tenn.) 6-2 Jr.
    Jeremiah Hill, Valdosta State (Ga.) 6-2 Sr.
    Devin Gilligan, Southern New Hampshire 6-5 Sr.
    Dan Monteroso, West Liberty (W. Va.) 6-3 Jr.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Rep Power

    Default Re: Player of the Year

    No surprise Pitts won, hes the truth.

    Good to see former Augustana Viking Devin Gilligan hooped hard at Southern New Hampshire.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Player of the Year

    The D2CCA All-American Team just released:
    2016-17 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Men’s Basketball All-American Team

    Name School Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
    Phil Taylor**% Shorter G 5-9 175 Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
    Justin Pitts NW Missouri State G 5-9 143 Jr. Blue Springs, Mo.
    Matt Bingaya Fairmont State G/F 6-4 210 Sr. Delaware, Ohio
    Michael Smith% California Baptist G 6-4 195 Sr. San Francisco, Cal.
    Dustin Sleva Shippensburg F 6-8 220 Jr. Pittsburgh, Pa.
    ** Ron Lenz National Player of the Year

    Name School Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
    Will Vorhees Notre Dame College F 6-8 240 Jr. Columbus Grove, Ohio
    Justin Reyes St. Thomas Aquinas G/F 6-4 205 Jr. Haverhill, Mass.
    Javonte Douglas Montevallo F 6-8 Sr. Charlotte, N.C.
    Zach Hankins Ferris State C 6-10 234 So. Charlevoix, Mich.
    Keshun Sherrill Augusta G 5-9 160 Sr. Cleveland, N.C.

    Name School Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
    Luquon Choice Lincoln Memorial G 6-3 235 Sr. Laurens, S.C.
    Michael Mallory Southern Connecticut State G 6-1 Sr. Waterbury, Conn.
    Gokul Natesan Colorado School of Mines G/F 6-5 190 Sr. Santa Clara, Calif.
    Devin Schmidt# Delta State G 6-4 215 Sr. Sevierville, Tenn.
    Devin Gilligan Southern New Hampshire F 6-5 220 Sr. Amherst, N.H.

    HONORABLE MENTION: Deshon Francis, UT Permian Basin; Dan Monteroso, West Liberty; Braxton Reeves, East
    Central; Chauncey Orr, Hawaii Pacific; Gage Davis, St. Cloud State; Jordan Spencer, Augustana(SD)
    # 2016 first team All-American
    % 2016 honorable mention All-American


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts